top of page

What do you do for a living?

Sometime during your photography career, you might get asked to speak about your business to students at a local school, especially if you have children from that school. This is what is known as Career Day. When I am not taking pictures I am a substitute teacher, and one of the schools I work at asked me to participate this year. As this is something I haven't done before, I was excited to speak to the students about my job.

The school counselor and teachers wanted the fifth graders to learn about different careers before they start sixth grade next year in middle school. They had several people who were on the list to attend, but the presenters all had careers where you were either tied to a desk or indoors. So the school counselor made it a point to include professionals who worked outdoors or had a job in the arts.

After I survived my first career day speaking to students, which I loved because I enjoy teaching and photography, I thought of some advice to pass along for other photographers out there who will get asked to do the same.

First, make sure you have a detailed schedule for the day, either written down or printed off your email from the school counselor. You need to know what time to be there and the average time you will spend at the school, in case you have a photoshoot later in the day, etc.

Bring lots of visual aids to show the students. As they have their faces buried in electronics these days, it's always good to have as much to show them as possible. I had an iPad and a laptop to show the website and my blog at the same time. I also brought a film camera and tripod to show them some older equipment. Because they are fifth graders and can be clumsy, I had them stand a little bit away from the equipment so they don't trip or knock something over.

Pack a snack and bottled water just in case the school doesn't provide anything for you. I ended up talking straight for two and a half hours without a break, so I had to have some water so I could keep talking. Fortunately, the school had some breakfast food and coffee, etc. for us.

In reference to speaking for so long, double check with the school counselor before hand to see if you will be able to take a ten minute break to use the restroom or get a drink of water. I spoke to the students for two and a half hours without a bathroom or water break, and I thought I was going to lose my voice.

See if the school counselor has a list of approved topics for you to discuss with the students and/or make some notes before hand so you have an idea of what you are going to say.

After the event is over, send a note or email thanking the counselor or the person in charge for asking you to speak at their career day. Chances are they will ask you to speak next year if you are available. You also might have some adults who work at the school who see your work and will possibly bring you some future business.

Good luck!


Blog

Featured Posts

Recent Posts

Follow Us

  • Facebook Basic
  • Google+ Basic
bottom of page